Wendy’s Bacon & Blue

26 03 2010

Im beginning to think this blog is giving me an excuse to eat more fast food. No, that can’t be. I put myself through this for you, not me!

Anyway, I went to Wendy’s yesterday to give their new “Bacon and Blue” burger a shot. Before I get into the review, let me introduce how I feel about Wendy’s. In my youth, I was a McDonalds/Burger King kid, and Wendy’s never jumped out at me. I had it occasionally, but I wasn’t able to appreciate it back then. McDonalds and Burger King had all the cool Happy Meal toys, play places, and ball pits. Wendy’s had Dave Thomas commercials and was always full of old people. Needless to say, as a young boy, the choice was simple.

As my pallete has aged and refined, I have begun to appreciate Wendy’s more and more.  Here’s why –

  • Their burgers are just quality – never frozen, juicy, and square. They are not thin and suspect like McDonalds’ patties, or gigantic and floppy like Burger King’s.
  • The rolls are corn dusted and fresh.
  • The lettuce and tomato have real flavor.
  • They don’t dump mayonaise and other condiments on every sandwich.
  • Their new Applewood smoked bacon is amazing – leaps and bounds ahead of every other fast food chains’ bacon. It is crisp, juicy, smoky, and flavorful.

My only gripe about Wendy’s are the fries, although they are growing on me. Wendy’s fries are large and floppy – great for mopping up ketchup, but I prefer crisper fries. Overall, Wendy’s is one of my favorite fast food chains, possibly making my top 3.

On to the main event –

 Wendy’s Bacon & Blue

You have to like bleu cheese to like this burger, and that is a hurdle some people have trouble getting over. I had a terrible experience with a bleu cheese and chicken sandwich a few years back (Pro Tip – don’t grill a chicken sandwich with the bleu cheese still on top – it turns green). Luckily, I have recovered my taste for the stuff since then, and Wendy’s is smart enough to add it after the grilling process. Wendy’s describes the burger as follows –

Fresh, never frozen beef covered in real blue cheese crumbles layered with FOUR strips of thick, fresh-cooked Applewood Smoked Bacon. Top it off with sautéed onions, a creamy steakhouse sauce and crisp, fresh veggies. Can you say delicious?”

This burger is pretty darn good. Not many fast food establishments can pull off a sandwich with bleu cheese, and Wendy’s pulled it off. The bacon, steak sauce, and veggies are really complemented by the tanginess of the bleu cheese. When biting into the sandwich, I first noticed the rich texture of the premium bun, the bite of the cheese, followed by the juice from the burger and the smoky aftertaste from the bacon. You will be hard pressed to find a juicy burger at McDonalds or Burger King.

The only drawback is the price – this burger ain’t cheap. It will set you back over four dollars if you buy it separately, and tack on a few extra bucks for the combo meal. I guess this isn’t terrible considering McDonald’s seven dollar+ McBistro meal, but this burger would be absolutely amazing at around a three dollar price point. To be honest, I wouldn’t mind reviewing this burger a few more times.

Any of you bleu cheese haters out there? Get over it and give this sandwich a shot! You won’t regret it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2010
Phil

I hear what you’re saying about Wendy’s…but I always feel sick after I eat there. Although that may have something to do with me always getting a Frosty on top of a burger and fries. Yeah, that’s probably it. Oh and I’m one of the bleu cheese haters (I can only eat it as a creamy dip for chicken wings).

7 04 2010
tbh

I agree with your comment about the fries!!

Leave a Reply

