Foreign Fast Food Pt. 2 – Jack in the Box

1 04 2010

My friend Phil was kind enough to submit another fast food review of a place we don’t have access to here in Baltimore – Jack in the Box. Many people call it the McDonalds of the southwest, but it is nowhere to be found around here in the northeast. I have never had the pleasure of visiting one myself. If you have a fast food review you would like to share on JCR – please leave a comment! Share your experiences with the world!

So here we go, take it away Phil!

Phil: OK, everyone back in the car, the West Coast Fast Food Road TripTM is off to its next stop…

JACK IN THE BOX!

Just like Del Taco, I have been to a Jack in the Box before (this time Dallas, TX) and I wanted to go back and see if I could spot Jack walking around being snarky.

Side note: Here in Baltimore we get all the national TV spots for Jack in the Box and we don’t have any out here. It’s cruel and unusual punishment and this needs to be stopped! Luckily the same problem we have with Sonic is going to be fixed soon, since we’re getting a couple of those bad boys in the area.

Ok, here’s what I sampled on my Jack in the Box trip…

(No prices this time, but remember Jack isn’t too expensive)

Bacon Ultimate Cheeseburger

Two beef patties topped with three slices of bacon, American and Swiss-style cheeses, Mayo-Onion sauce, mustard and ketchup on a sesame seed bun. My Take: Tasty burger, not healthy mind you, but tasty. Give me a sesame seed bun over those plain old buns any day. The beef patties were juicy and tasted better than a CrapDonald’s burger, were comparable to a Wendy’s burger (to me), but not as good as a Burger King patty. The amount of cheese and sauce was just right, and really made the sandwich. The headliner, bacon, was average for fast food and not as crispy as I would like. Even though I think this thing could use at least some lettuce, I would recommend it.


French Fries

Shoestring fries, like McDonald’s. My Take: Jack makes some good fries. If you like McDonald’s fries, you will like these.



Regular Beef Taco

Crunchy corn tortilla, spicy beef, American cheese, shredded lettuce and taco sauce. My Take: These things are cheap and they taste like it! I’ve had these tacos before and I don’t know why I keep getting them. The taco shell is hard as a rock, it’s greasy, the American cheese slice is kind of weird, and the mystery meat that is the “beef” is bland and tasteless. PASS…unless you’re hungry and only have 99 cents.


Oreo Cookie Ice Cream Shake

Made with real vanilla ice cream, Oreo cookie pieces, whipped topping and a maraschino cherry. My Take: This is better than your typical fast food milk shake. It doesn’t have a cheap taste like some other places and the cherry/whipped cream is a nice touch. This thing is heavy though, unless you have a bottomless pit for a stomach you might want to skip this after a giant meal.

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

A blend of Minute Maid strawberry and banana fruit juices and nonfat frozen yogurt. My Take: Nice and refreshing, perfect for dessert. This baby won’t weigh you down.

Wish List for Next Time: Everything. Jack in the Box has a bunch of interesting breakfast options (burritos, bowls, croissant/biscuit sandwiches), salads, grilled sandwiches, pitas, teriyaki bowls, burgers, mini burgers, chicken sandwiches, chicken strips, flavored iced teas, curly fries, and MINI CHURROS! We need a Jack in the Box around here so I can try all of this stuff.

Overall Jack in the Box was decent and I would go back. I like the variety of items on the menu and being able to have breakfast/lunch/dinner/snack whenever is something every fast food chain should do. I need to get more items next time to make a full evaluation, but I have hope that the rest of the menu is good just based on what I had on this trip.

Just like last time make sure to drop some comments! If you’ve been to a Jack in the Box voice your opinions and let everyone know what’s good and what’s not so good at the Jack!

Ok everyone, get some rest because on the last leg of the trip we’re going to visit Weinerschnitzel! See you then!

Jamie: Any Jack in the Box frequenters out west or down south? What do you think of it? Leave a comment!

Actions

Information

One response

7 04 2010
tbh

Dude, next time try the curly fries!

Leave a Reply

