KFC Double Down

10 05 2010

In case you haven’t heard, KFC has released a new sandwich called the “Double Down”. This sandwich has gained fame and notoriety all over the internet for being incredibly unhealthy, even for fast food. What makes the Double Down sandwich so bad for you?

They replaced the bun with fried chicken.


That’s right – unlike a normal sandwich, where there is usually meat of some sort between two slices of bread, the Double Down packs cheese, mayonnaise, and bacon in between two fried chicken breasts, skipping the bread entirely. When I first heard of this dastardly creation, I felt both excitement and dread at thought of eating one myself. I was curious as to how it would taste, but fearful of getting a coronary afterward. Luckily I found this chart to compare its nutritional information to some other fast food offerings.

(click the picture for a full-size shot)

Who knew that a chicken sandwich from Panera was worse for you than this monstrosity? We all know this sandwich isn’t a nutritional godsend, but how did it taste? Lets get to the review.

The KFC Double Down

As if ordering the sandwich wasn’t enough, I also opted for a side of mashed potatoes and potato wedges. I absolutely love KFC’s mashed potatoes and gravy. As you can see, the Double Down is basically two hunks of chicken with pepper jack cheese, bacon, and chipotle mayonnaise in between. The sandwich lost immediate points because the cheese was cold and not melted whatsoever. They could at least nuke the sandwich for 15 seconds before serving it. The sandwich is wrapped in thin paper, allowing you to eat it without actually touching the greasy chicken.

Don’t you want to take a bite?

After biting into it, I first noticed the warm chicken, which was quite juicy and infused with KFC’s spices. This was followed up by the cold, creaminess of the cheese and the subtle bite from the chipotle mayonnaise. This is one rich sandwich, as you may expect. In a weird way, it is almost refreshing to each chicken this way, without having to deal with bones or a large, doughy bun. The chicken was high quality, but the stuff in between, not so much.

Would I order it again? Probably not. This thing sat like a rock in my stomach, making me feel like taking a nap the whole afternoon. Even I have limits to what I can take from a fast food joint, and this is too much for me. I am glad I tried it though, and I would recommend that you give it a shot if you are at all curious. The KFC Double Down will be remembered as one of the more controversial offerings in the history of fast food, for better or worse.

What do you think about the Double Down? Post a comment and let me know.

Actions

Information

One response

22 06 2010
maggie

I’m scared!! That’s a heart attack waiting to happen!!!

Leave a Reply

